Home

The Book with No Pictures: B.J. Novak: 9780803741713: Amazon.com: Books

He’s an actor, author, stand-up comedian, and screenwriter. Really, what can’t B.J. Novak do? Now add a children’s book to his dossier. Novak’s The Book with No Pictures comes by its title honestly; the book is one filled with only words, in different fonts and colors and sizes. Funny, creative, and smart, the book, which forces the reader to say a slew of ridiculous words, is guaranteed to get a laugh out of any kid you know.

You might think a book with no pictures seems boring and serious. Except . . . here’s how books work. Everything written on the page has to be said by the person reading it aloud. Even if the words say” BLORK. Or BLUURF. Even if the words are a preposterous song about eating ants for breakfast, or just a list of astonishingly goofy sounds like BLAGGITY BLAGGITY and GLIBBITY GLOBBITY.

In his own words: ” I always write for whoever is in front of me that I want to entertain. Usually that’s not kids. But I like that it’s also kids. It’s really about the idea that I have first, and then the challenge of it. And that’s also partly why I called it The Book with No Pictures. I thought it would be a challenge. Can you make a kid love a book without pictures?” Sounds good to me!

Available on Amazon for $10.79 in hardcover or as a Kindle Edition for $10.25. Enjoy!

The Book with No Pictures: B.J. Novak: 9780803741713: Amazon.com: Books.

