Home

Oatmeal Stout

I haven’t always been a beer drinker. In fact, up until I was twenty five, my experience with beer was limited to Coors Light, Budweiser, and Corona. Tell me about it, I know.

I’ve been coming back to Samuel Smith’s Oatmeal Stout again and again this summer. I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a staple for me. It’s definitely not an all-day kind of thing, as it’s pretty thick and heavy, but lord it’s got quite a taste.  Brewed with well water (the original well at the Old Brewery, sunk in 1758, is still in use, with the hard well water being drawn from 85 feet underground); fermented in ‘stone Yorkshire squares’ to create an almost opaque, wonderfully silky and smooth textured ale with a complex medium dry palate and bittersweet finish.

I’m finding it just about everywhere – including the craft section at the grocery story. The bottles are oversized, so expect it to be slightly more expensive than a typical bear, but not overpriced. All you vegans out there: this company is for you!

Oatmeal Stout.

