Home

iOS 7.1 Features: Secret iOS 7.1 feature controls iPhone with head | BGR

This has me scratching my head, and if I owned an iPhone I’d have to be careful what that very gesture caused my phone to do. Yes folks, as of iOS 7, your phone can watch you and respond to head movements! Go figure!

iOS now includes a feature that allows users to control the iPhone with head-based motion gestures. In other words, the front-facing camera will monitor your face and simply shaking your head in a certain direction will trigger an action. This feature has been present in iOS since the release of iOS 7, but it hasn’t been widely publicized at all.

Here’s how to enable it: Open Settings and go to: General > Accessibility > Switch Control. Tap Switches to add a new switch. Use a source of Camera, then Left Head Movement and a System setting of Siri. In other words, I want the camera to watch me and when I shake my head to the left, I want the system to bring up Siri. Off you go.

Samsung has been employing eye-tracking and gestures (like waving your hand over the phone) for the past year, so it’s interesting to see Apple bake it into their pie without advertising it. Have any ideas as to why this feature wasn’t touted?

iOS 7.1 Features: Secret iOS 7.1 feature controls iPhone with head | BGR.

